Essay Prizes

National Essay Prize

The Australian Institute of Administrative Law awards an AIAL National Essay Prize in Administrative Law every two years.

The next prize will be awarded in July 2022. The details for the AIAL Essay and Multimedia Prize in Administrative Law 2019 are here:

The 2019 prize was won by David Patrick Hertzberg with an essay entitled “The three forms of executive power and the consequences for administrative law” which is published  in AIAL Forum 96.

The 2017 National Essay Prize was won by Callum Herbert, a masters student at ANU, with an essay entitled “Halting the ripples of affection: A practical approach to preserving ‘threshold decisions’ of doubtful validity”. The essay is published in AIAL Forum 89.

The 2015 National Essay Prize was won by joint winners Lucy Jackson and Christopher Ellis. Ms Jackson’s essay “Towards an administrative estoppel” is published in AIAL Forum 81. The essay by Mr Ellis is published in AIAL Forum 82.

The 2013 National Essay Prize winner was won by Daniel Reynolds, a law student at the University of New South Wales, with an essay entitled “Consitutionalisation of administrative law”. The essay was published in AIAL Forum 74.

The 2011 National Essay Prize was won by Maya Narayan with an essay entitled “Creature of statute, beast of burden: The Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal and the heavy lifting of human rights”. The essay was published in AIAL Forum 66.

The 2009 National Essay Prize was won by Tristan Robinson with an essay entitled “Federal FOI reform and media access to government information: A transparency revolution or just a better foothold?”. The essay was published in AIAL Forum 62.

State and Territory Essay Prizes

There are no State or Territory prizes at this time.